22 Feb

Love is a multifaceted and complex emotion that manifests in various forms within a marriage. Understanding the different types of love and their significance can deepen the bond between spouses and enrich their relationship journey.

Let’s explore these types of love and how each contributes to a thriving marriage:

Eros Love: Eros love is often associated with passion, desire, and physical attraction. It’s the fiery, romantic love that ignites a spark between spouses. While eros love is commonly experienced in the early stages of a relationship, it can continue to flourish throughout marriage, keeping the flame of passion alive. For example, spontaneous kisses, lingering touches, and intimate moments of physical closeness are expressions of eros love that strengthen the bond between spouses.

Agape Love: Agape love, also known as unconditional love, is selfless, altruistic, and unwavering. It transcends personal desires and encompasses a deep sense of compassion, empathy, and commitment towards one’s spouse.

Agape love is demonstrated through acts of kindness, sacrifice, and support, even in the face of challenges and hardships. For instance, a spouse caring for their spouse during illness or supporting them through difficult times showcases the power of agape love in nurturing a resilient and enduring relationship. Unconditional love could be a other way of describing this type of love.

Pragma Love: Pragma love is characterized by practicality, compatibility, and long-term planning. It’s the love that evolves from shared values, goals, and mutual understanding between spouses. Pragma love acknowledges the importance of compatibility and seeks to build a stable and harmonious relationship based on mutual respect and shared interests.

For example, spouses who make joint decisions about finances, career goals, and family planning demonstrate pragma love by prioritizing their long-term compatibility and happiness.

Philia Love: Philia love, also known as friendship love, is founded on companionship, trust, and camaraderie between spouses. It’s the deep bond of friendship that enriches a marriage and provides a sense of warmth, comfort, and companionship.

Philia love is nurtured through shared experiences, mutual interests, and emotional support. For instance, spouses who enjoy spending quality time together, engaging in meaningful conversations, and supporting each other’s personal growth cultivate a strong foundation of philia love in their relationship.

Storge Love: Storge love is familial love, characterized by affection, familiarity, and a sense of belonging. It’s the love that grows from shared experiences, shared history, and familial bonds between spouses. Storge love is expressed through gestures of care, nurturing, and protection towards one’s spouse.

For example, spouses who prioritize creating a loving and supportive home environment, cherishing family traditions, and fostering a sense of security for each other exemplify the power of storge love in strengthening their marital bond.

Each type of love plays a unique and essential role in a marriage, contributing to its depth, resilience, and longevity. Through mutual understanding, appreciation, and commitment to cultivating these different types of love, couples can create a marriage that thrives and withstands the test of time.

Ultimate Intimacy

The "Ultimate" Newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter for weekly marriage tips, printables, and updates on the app and products!
Sign up for FREE:
*No spam, we promise.